How to Get a Realtor’s License in FL

If you are ready to start helping people buy and sell property in Florida, you’ll need a practicing license to work as a relator. Learn how you can get a realtor’s license in FL.


Florida’s pleasant weather makes it an appealing location for home owners. It comes as no surprise, therefore, that the state’s realty industry is quite robust. If you are ready to start helping people buy and sell property in FL, it can be quite a lucrative venture.

From the beachfront properties in Palm Beach to the studio apartments and penthouses in Orlando, there is something for every client in the Sunshine State.

As a realtor in FL, you will interact with diverse clients, ranging from young people looking for suitable homes to get started in life to retired couples looking for farmhouses. Your work as a realtor can be quite exciting and satisfying for all parties involved.

However, you must get a license to work as a relator in FL. Getting your practicing license is no mean fit, but within three to five months of dedication and hard work you can get your license and even switch careers to become a professional real estate dealer in the Sunshine State.

But what steps must you complete to get a realtor’s license in FL?


Let’s Review the Prerequisites


Here is where it all begins. Don't enroll in a realty program before going through the eligibility requirements. You must be an adult, 18 years old or above, with proof that you finished high school. A high school diploma or equivalent is enough to get you through the door.

The other prerequisite factor to get a realtor’s license in FL is that you must finish the pre-licensing coursework. The program is 63 hours long, covering all the basics, from real estate math to fair housing laws.

Florida has a mutual agreement with other states, allowing you to skip the education requirements for a practicing license.


Where Can You Learn?


The pre-licensing program is a crucial part of your journey towards becoming a realtor. The coursework will introduce you to real estate laws, ethics, writing appraisals, and agency relationships. You must revise the topics and concepts to boost your chances of passing the state exam.

You can study online or attend a state-approved college offering the program. Your options will depend on your needs and learning style. Online programs are most suitable for people who are after flexibility. If you are interested in studying online with the help of self-paced study plans, pop over here.

Physical classes offer more interactivity but are limited regarding flexibility. However, interacting with your peers and course instructors can help you build solid professional networks. Weigh your needs against the pros and cons before deciding between online or physical classes.


Exam Time: How to Prepare


After completing the coursework, you must sit for the state exam offered by PearsonVUE. You will get three and a half hours to complete the 100 multiple-choice questions. The pass score is 75%, but you can retake the exam if you are unsuccessful on your first attempt.

Preparing well and early is crucial to boost your chances of passing the exam. You can purchase exam preparation packages with mock tests and practice questions. You can also check your local community library for free practice exam papers.


Last Step: License Application


Getting to this stage is no mean fit, and you need a pat on the back. All that is left is applying for the license, which can be done online. There are application fees involved alongside sending proof to show that you completed the pre-licensing program and passed the state exam.

Once you get your license, you must get a mentor or a sponsoring broker to activate your license. Choosing the right brokerage is crucial, as it will shape your career’s trajectory.

Tegan Wehner is an experienced content writer covering various topics in technology and real estate. You can contact her via email: